Manage users

Each user trying to access an application or Web service protected by the GIP must be a user recognized by the GIP.

To manage users, you must be able to access the Console App. Access to the Console App is managed by authorization scopes; see Managing GIP components to learn more.

From the Console App, use the Users menu to:
  • Add a user.
  • Update or delete a user.
  • Update your personal profile.

Who can manage users?

Access to the various user management functions is controlled by scopes set by the Profile Service, the Web service that manages user profiles.

To add, update, or delete users, you must:
  • Be a member of the Administrator group.
  • Have the profile.mgr scope.
To update your personal profile, you must:
  • Have the profile.me scope. Having this scope enables the Users > Update me menu item.

Add a user

To add a user, select Users > New.

In the New user form, you simply provide the user login and a new password. Choose a simple password for each user. The user will have to change the password later. You are not permitted to provide any further user profile information; it is expected that each user will log in to the Genero Console App and change their password, as well as update their own profile details. Once you have provided the login and password details, click Register.

With the user registered, you will need to add the user to one or more groups. Click Groups. Select one or more groups and click Save.

To add additional scopes for the user, click Permissions. Permissions that are inherited due to group membership are selected and grayed out; they cannot be changed from this page. For the remaining permissions, you can select or de-select scopes. Click Save to save your modifications.

Once you have finished adding the user to groups and giving the user additional scopes, click Back to return to the main page of the Genero Console App.

Manage a user

For users that exist, you can choose to reset the user password, add or remove permissions, or add or remove membership to groups.

To manage a user, select Users > Manage users. Select the row of the user to manage and click Modify. The User form opens with the user name shown in the read-only Login field.

To reset the password, click Password and complete the form.

To add or remove permissions, click Permissions. Permissions that are inherited due to group membership are selected and grayed out; they cannot be changed from this page. For the remaining permissions, you can select or de-select scopes. Click Save to save your modifications.

To add or remove membership from a group, click Groups. Select one or more groups and click Save.

Remove a user

To remove a user, select Users > Manage users. Select the row of the user to remove and click Remove. A confirmation dialog appears asking you to confirm your selection, as the removal cannot be undone.