Subscribe for automatic updates: RSS icon RSS

Login icon Sign in for full access | Help icon Help
Advanced search

Pages: [1]
  Reply  |  Print  
Author Topic: Data Wrap  (Read 4546 times)
Jeff W.
Posts: 31


« on: May 05, 2010, 11:34:23 pm »

I'm printing a column from a data view on a layout, and this column may contain text that's wider than the width of the page.  The current result is the line prints to the edge of the page and is cut off (doesn't wrap).  When I pull the item from the data view into the layout, it defaults to a WordBox type.  How can I change it to a Word Wrap Box or assign a property to do this?  Or, is there another way to handle this situation?

I've tried putting the data item inside a Word Wrap Box, but no luck.  In addition, I searched for a related RTL expression.
Scott B.
Four Js
Posts: 23


« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2010, 12:44:29 am »

When you place the item on the report, it defaults to WordBox.

Right-click on that data value in the Report Structure tree and select "Change Type" from the contextual menu. You can then change the Type property to a WordWrapBox.
Reuben B.
Four Js
Posts: 704


« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2010, 03:03:37 am »

When you place the item on the report, it defaults to WordBox.

...

When you place the item on the report, it should default to a particular object type based on the data type

e.g. integer, decimals etc become DecimalFormatBox
strings and long chars become WordWrapBox
short chars become WordBox

etc

I can't recall the trigger point that defines what a short and long char is, it something like 25 or 30 characters.

So I'm curious that this hasn't defaulted to WordWrapBox.  What is the datatype, or what version of Studio, Genero Report Designer are you running?

Similarly when you tried adding a WordWrapBox manually what was the value of X-size attribute.  This defaults to width("M")*20.  So again I am curious that when you added the WordWrapBox yourself, it didn't wrap.

Reuben
 
Jeff W.
Posts: 31


« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2010, 05:33:10 pm »

I tried the offered suggestion of . . . Right-click on that data value in the Report Structure tree and select "Change Type" from the contextual menu.

This is not available in my version of GRD, where I've been creating my report layouts since the installation of the Genero products.  This sounded more like GST, so I opened the file there and was able to accomplish this.  So it looks like I should be using GST instead of GRD for my layouts--at least with my current versions of each.

GRD version 1.00.06
GST version 2.20.06

Should I use GRD at all?  If so, why or what are the differences?
Scott B.
Four Js
Posts: 23


« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2010, 06:23:38 pm »

When we first released GRD, it was stand-alone, not integrated into GST.

Starting with GST 2.20, we included GRD as a component within GST (much like Code Editor, Form Designer, we included the Report Designer).

This means that when you use GST 2.20, you are using GRD version 2.20 -- which is a more current version of GRD than 1.00.06.

You should therefore use the GRD included with GST. The latest GST release is 2.21, which means it includes the latest GRD 2.21.

[Side note one: There will be a release of a stand-alone GRD again, so that all report designers don't have to have GST. But for now, they should have GST to use the latest GRD component.]

[Side note two: And sorry Reuben, I was summarizing his experience, not making an statement about all data values being WordBox objects. You are absolutely right, the type is initially dependent on the data type of the data value. My point was that the only way to change the Type property is the right-click contextual menu method.]

Reuben B.
Four Js
Posts: 704


« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2010, 01:37:08 am »

When we first released GRD, it was stand-alone, not integrated into GST.

Starting with GST 2.20, we included GRD as a component within GST (much like Code Editor, Form Designer, we included the Report Designer).

This means that when you use GST 2.20, you are using GRD version 2.20 -- which is a more current version of GRD than 1.00.06.

You should therefore use the GRD included with GST. The latest GST release is 2.21, which means it includes the latest GRD 2.21.

[Side note one: There will be a release of a stand-alone GRD again, so that all report designers don't have to have GST. But for now, they should have GST to use the latest GRD component.]

...


Side note to your side note Scott, I don't recall seeing an announcement but the stand-alone GRD is available.  In the Genero Studio section of the download site you should see an entry Genero Report Designer 2.21.04
Pages: [1]
  Reply  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines